The Quarter Cafe: A Jerusalem Treasure

My daughter and I had just spent the morning at Yad Vashem, which is what I think is an important part of history to understand as she is in her Bat Mitzvah year. Afterwards we traveled by the light rail to the Old City, and I led her down into the Jewish Quarter. I love that part of the Old City. I wanted us to get some food at the infamous Quarter Cafe as a celebration of her Bat Mitzvah, and I had heard through internet groups that the Quarter Cafe had an excellent reputation and celiac-safe protocols for those needing their food gluten-free. I had never eaten there since diagnosis, but was willing to take the risk.

They certainly did not disappoint.

Walking in, all I had to do was mention that I had celiac disease (in English, none-the-less…no Hebrew needed to communicate properly), and the host took me immediately to the food and indicated which food items were safe (most were), and that they made sure that gf foods were prepared away from gluten containing items. They even had gluten-free pita and falafel! Seriously. Gluten. Free. Pita. And it was soft and tasty. You never would have known it was gluten-free.

They even had two different types of gluten-free chocolate truffles for dessert!

I was so happy to be able to eat healthy, safe, food–at the same time with one of the most beautiful and iconic views in Jerusalem, overlooking the Mount of Olives and the Temple Mount.

My non-gf daughter equally enjoyed her food and we left full and in good spirits to shop for Judaica in other parts of the Quarter.

Overall, this place should not be missed, especially if you need gluten-free.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.